Can Your Pet Provide You With Emotional Support?

My ESA Doctor
3 min readDec 15, 2020

--

I love my pet dog. He is a part of my family and I would do anything to make sure he gets the best life ever. I’m sure you also feel the same way about your pets. Whether you have a dog, cat, rabbit, or any other animal as your pet, you would always want to make sure that they are happy. My dog is more than just a pet for me, he constantly supports me emotionally. He supports me through my anxiety issues. Last year, I also consulted an emotional support animal doctor and got my ESA letter.

Emotional Support Animal Doctor

Pets are loving, caring, and full of affection. There are many ways in which they can help you emotionally too. Let’s learn more about how pets can provide you with emotional support.

What does The Research say?

Studies show that even petting a friendly dog can help you in various ways -

  • Relaxing the muscle tension
  • More regular breathing
  • Lowering blood pressure
  • Slowing heart rate

All these benefits help in reducing your stress. So, yes, simply petting your pet can help you get rid of your stress.

Pets Help in Reducing Stress

As I mentioned above, petting an animal can help in reducing stress. When you interact with a friendly pet, levels of cortisol reduces. Cortisol is the stress hormone. So, as its levels reduce, you will begin to notice a reduction in your stress. There is one more hormone in your body that helps in reducing stress naturally, called oxytocin. Playing or interacting with a pet can promote the release of this hormone, and hence reducing your stress naturally.

Some studies have also shown that animals can even help in calming aggressive and hyperactive children. In fact, even if someone doesn’t like animals too much, they can also get the same benefits.

Pets Provide Companionship

One of the best parts about having pets is that they will never let you feel alone. Trust me, NEVER. They are always there for you to support. They become your constant companion and support you emotionally. Isolation and loneliness are two of the major trigger symptoms of depression. But when you have a fur-pal with you who’s always with you, you will never feel isolated or alone. This is especially true for people who live alone.

It does not matter what animal you have as your pet, they will always make you feel loved and wanted. Pets also provide you a sense of security. And you always have someone with you to share the routine of your day.

Pets Also Reduce Depression

Pets are just amazing in motivating their owners. They can encourage you to get out of your bed and exercise. This can be really helpful for people suffering from depression. You begin to feel calmer when you have pets at home with you. Just stroke your pets, play with them or even sit next to them. All this will help you relax and calm down your mind.

ESA Doctors

Also, when you care for your pets, you feel a sense of achievement. You began to feel valuable and needed, which is very beneficial for your emotional health.

Name :- My ESA Doctor

Phone No :- (866) 360–5652

Address :- 2001 East 1st St Ste 102 Santa Ana, CA 92705

Website Url:- https://myesadoctor.com/

--

--

My ESA Doctor

My ESA Doctor is one of the leading online portals which is providing valid emotional support animal letters. Visit Now: https://myesadoctor.com